For One More Day by Mitch Albom

I thought I had done it again.  Paid double the price for a book (imported to Japan), read it, disliked it, and found out it had very few stars from Amazon.  But, no, this one got 4 stars.  I was shocked.  However, as I read some of the reviews, readers who had lost a loved one, especially a mother, found it most moving.  Fortunately I do not yet share that sadness.

So, while I did not think the book was worth the $12 or so I paid for it in paperback form, there is a quote that I want to share from the main character, Chick, that I was moved by.

His life goes into a tailspin when his mother died.  If his Mother had been alive, she might have been able to reach him, he thinks.  Then he says:

“that’s the thing when your parents die, you feel like instead of going into every fight with backup, you are going into every fight alone.”  page 5

Even living here in Japan, so far from my parents and siblings, I know they ARE there.  One reason I CAN live here is that I KNOW if something ever happened, they are there for backup every time.  I wonder if I would have been brave enough to make many of the choices I’ve made without parents holding the kite strings loose enough, but firmly enough.

Thank you very much, Mom and Dad!

Now, this book goes on the “Give Away” shelf.  Hopefully Jun won’t eat it before it goes to the used bookstore!

2 Comments

Filed under Quote

2 responses to “For One More Day by Mitch Albom

  1. Who would have thought a sports writer from Detroit would get so much publicity as a writer in a field so different from his normal work?

  2. Pingback: Book « Amy in Africa

Leave a Reply

