Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers

“Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down.”  For some reason, I just wanted to read Mary Poppins, so bought a copy at our expensive bookstore.

Now, I don’t know what I was looking for – some advice on child rearing or flying with umbrellas, but…as my student said, whom I presented with the first book in the series…Mary wasn’t all that nice to the kiddos.  I simply CANNOT imagine her giving them a spoonful of sugar to help the medicine go down.

That being said, their adventures are quite amusing.  But, even more than their adventures, I enjoy how the other “regulars” in the neighborhood end up on peppermint ponies, or flying balloons.

Believe it or not, Mary Poppins made me think a bit about being a Christian in Japan, or, the world.  How will my actions or affiliations or beliefs rub off and affect those around me, without them even realizing it at the time?

I recommend Mary P, but, as my student also said, these aren’t really books for kids – are they?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers

  1. Interesting – I never thought about the book the movie was based on. I loved the movie growing up, maybe I should check out the book(s)?

    Did you know Mary Poppins (the movie at least) turns 44 this year? Kind of neat how things stick with us over the years.

Leave a Reply

